Top List of Halal Animals and the Basic Concept Behind It

Top List of Halal Animals and the Basic Concept Behind It

For Muslims, knowing the list of halal animals is super helpful because it prevents them from doing a sinful action. As you are already aware, there is a particular Islamic regulation on dietary. This regulation defines which food is considered haram (mustn’t be consumed) and which is regarded as halal (allowed to consume). Such a regulation leads to the existence of lists of which animals are haram and which are halal.

A. Haram and Halal Concept in Islam

Just like all religions in the world, Islam has its own sets of regulations that are believed to help their believers to go to the right path. After all, Islam is a religion of compassion and mercy. The rules (the prohibitions and commands) are made and regulated for human’s best interest and their own sake. 

For a starter, some animals are labelled haram because they are considered impure, unclean, and may only bring illness and sickness to humans, such as cats, dogs, and pigs. They are considered harmful and bring no benefits or whatsoever to human lives if eaten.  

Moreover, the dietary regulations also restrict the way these animals are slaughtered. You see, the religion believes that animals die for the sake of human being – the animals die (providing their flesh) so that human can live. The animals’ sacrifice must be respected and honoured; thus, leading to a humane way of slaughtering them. The basic principle is to make the process as quick and less painful as possible. The animals mustn’t suffer – that’s why the blade must be super sharp, and the animals are slaughtered by slitting their throat. It is believed to promote quick death. The animals mustn’t see the blade before slaughtering either so they won’t be afraid.  

Moreover, the bleed should be wasted correctly and adequately. It must be thoroughly and properly cleaned, so there won’t be any remaining blood that can cause sickness and illness to those who consume the meat. And as for animals that aren’t in the list of halal animals, there is no need to bother about slaughtering them. As they are believed to bring no benefits, Muslim people won’t bother slaughtering or even killing those animals. Slaughtering is only performed to animals that are considered halal and beneficial for human consumption.  

B. Some of the Basic Principles of Halal Food

It is clear that animals that have been prohibited explicitly in Sunnah or Qur’an such as donkey, horse, or swine are haram. All animals that live and born in water are halal. All fish is halal. But there is a debate about this matter as some believe that some other aquatic animals are still haram. If you have doubts about it, it is better that you consult your religious teacher about this matter.  

Much of Aquatic Animals is Included to List of Halal Animals
Much of Aquatic Animals is Included to List of Halal Animals

Blood is considered haram – meaning that consuming blood is prohibited. In some areas, people consume animal blood for vitality and sexual reason. In other regions, chicken blood, for instance, is processed and then eaten. Meat that isn’t properly treated and adequately drained (the blood) would be considered haram. 

Moreover, land animals that have no blood within them are considered haram, like ant, scorpion, beetle, spider, fly, spider, and hornet. They are considered impure – leading to the haram label. However, locust is allowed, and it is considered halal. Other land animals that have blood but the blood doesn’t flow, such as chameleon, lizard, or snake, are considered haram. And all pests types are haram – including jerboa, hedgehog, and mouse.  

C. Some Example of the List of Halal Animals

Example of Halal List Animals
Example of Halal List Animals

Here is the example list of halal animals that are considered safe and okay for consumption (you won’t be judged sinful when you eat them):

  • Zebra
  • Albatross
  • Bison
  • Barracuda
  • Anglerfish
  • Birds – those without talons
  • Chicken
  • Camel
  • Cow
  • Dove
  • Deer 
  • Duck
  • Flamingo
  • Giraffe
  • Gazelle
  • Goat
  • Heron
  • Kangaroo
  • Llama
  • Locus
  • Mackerel
  • Manta Ray
  • Ox
  • Rooster
  • Pigeon
  • Pelican
  • Ostrich
  • Reindeer
  • Shark
  • Rabbit
  • Trout
  • Wallaby
  • Wildebeest
  • Sea Swallow 

And here is the list for haram animals:

  • Worm
  • Wolf
  • Beaver
  • Ant
  • Alligator
  • Ape
  • Beetle
  • Butterfly
  • Mussel 
  • Mole
  • Millipede
  • Caterpillar
  • Cheetah
  • Chipmunk
  • Cockroach
  • Dolphin
  • Dog
  • Elephant
  • Falcon
  • Eagle
  • Jellyfish
  • Hamster
  • Hyena
  • Lobster
  • Mice
  • Octopus
  • Oyster
  • Panther
  • Owl
  • Snail
  • Squid
  • Toad 
  • Tiger

These lists aren’t complete, so be sure that you are performing more thorough research to know the details of halal and haram animals. The lists on the above section are only examples – they are only some of the animals that are allowed and prohibited for consumption. Again, there are also some different opinions about which is halal and not halal for consumption (such as the sea animals). So, be sure to consult a trusted source and go-to reliable religious teacher / Islamic scholar to discuss it. 

Final Word

In the end, the choice to eat types of foods depends on your personal preference. But let’s not forget that there are actually factual logic and reasonable explanations about the halal and haram foods. If you are a Muslim, it is better to stick to the list of halal animals – to be on the safer side. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *